General information

  • Population: 2,055,000

    Position: Slovenia is in central Europe.

    Area: 20,273 km2

    Government: Slovenia is a democratic republic founded on the principle of the separation of powers of the legislative, executive and judicial branches of authority.

    Capital city: Ljubljana, population: 280,000

    Membership of international organisations: Slovenia has been a member of the European Union since 1 May 2004 and a member of NATO since 7 April 2004. It is also a member of many other international organisations.

    Administrative division: 58 administrative units, 211 municipalities.

    Other major centres: Maribor, Kranj, Celje, Koper, Novo mesto, Velenje, Murska Sobota.

    Official language: Slovene; also Hungarian and Italian in their respective ethnically mixed areas.

    Religion: The majority of the population is Roman Catholic; Slovenia also has 40 other officially registered religious communities.

    Currency: euro (EUR), since 1 January 2007

    Climate: Alpine, Pannonian, Mediterranean

    Time: Central European Time (UTC + 1), Central European Summer Time (UTC + 2)

    Average temperatures: July 21°C, January 0°C

    Electricity supply: 230 V

    Units of measurement: metric – metres, kilometres, grams, kilograms. Temperatures are expressed in degrees Celsius.

    Length of borders: with Austria 330 km, with Italy 280 km, with Hungary 102 km and with Croatia 670 km; total 1,382 km

    Length of coastline: 46.6 km

    Highest peak: Triglav, 2,864 m

    Average height above sea level: 556.8 m

    More interesting facts are available on the website of the National Statistics Office.